2021 Virtual Percussion EXTRAVAGANZA!

Click here to view the WYSO Virtual Percussion Extravaganza!

The WYSO Percussion Ensemble virtually performed on April 10 after four months of rehearsing in a ballroom at Monona Terrace Convention Center.  This intrepid ensemble was in search of a rehearsal location that could hold 12 masked and socially-distanced musicians and all of their instruments. The ballroom fit them perfectly, and was not only the setting for their rehearsals but also the “recording studio” for this year’s virtual concert.

The Virtual Percussion EXTRAVAGANZA  featured the 2020-21 Percussion Ensemble;  Percussion Ensemble Director, Vicki P. Jenks; Percussion Ensemble Assistant, Dane Crozier; four student emcees; and five wonderful guest musicians: Adam Goren, Lauren Rault, Richard Hildner, Eric Solberg, and Angela Nohl Batterman.

Last year’s Percussion Ensemble was just three weeks away from their 2020 EXTRAVAGANZA when the news of the pandemic canceled all of WYSO’s Spring Concerts. This time around, the ensemble presented a rich and varied program of recorded percussion repertoire that referenced the story of the past year.  The ensemble chose as their 2020-21 theme “To Those Who are Brave,” which is also the title of a resonant composition of percussion and spoken word composed by Phillip Mikula on the evening of September 11, 2001. The ensemble showcased this composition in the April 10 EXTRAVAGANZA, and began the performance with a recitation of the poem below. Also on the program was “The Lost” and “The Chameleon” by Andrew Stout; “Through the Fire and Flames” by DragonForce, arr. by Ben Wahlund; “Clapping Music” by Steve Reich, “Windstone Suite” by Jared Spears, and “Afro Blue” by Mongo Santamaria.

This celebration of musical spirit also featured the beautiful new WYSO percussion equipment in its first concert. Delivered last August, the ten copper bowl timpani, four marimbas, xylophone, vibraphone, chimes, African djembes, Latin congas, and Roland keyboard were all a gift from an anonymous and generous donor, who has also sponsored this year’s concert recordings. 

To Those Who Are Brave
is dedicated to the people we come across in everyday life,
People who face fear with a mind of perseverance,
People who do jobs others would not desire,
People who stand up for what they believe in,
People who fight for fairness,
People who give when receiving is not possible,
People who love unconditionally,
People who rejoice in knowing there are better days to come,
And people who face the unknown with a sense of trust,
It is those people that we all desire to be,
And we must realize,
That in the end reward will come,
To those who are brave.


Click on the squares below to hear the individual recorded pieces! Click here for the recorded concert!



Watch this Excerpt of the Concert!


Vicki Peterson Jenks, WYSO Percussion Ensemble Director   Dane Crozier, WYSO Percussion Ensemble, Assistant

2020-21 Percussion Ensemble: Tomer Angelina, Aiden Dalby, Anais Griffith-Oh, Ellis Goeden, Ingrid Malin, Joseph Batterman, Luke Whittingham, Nicholas Ruplinger, Nithya Allu, Tierney Aldrich-Stanek, Tighearnan Way (virtual), Abe Tietge (virtual).

Guest Artists: Adam Goren, Lauren Rault, Richard Hildner, Eric Solberg, and Angela Nohl Batterman.

Video and Recording Team: Dave Alcorn (Microtone Media), Buzz Kemper, Audrey Martinovich (Audio for the Arts)

Read about the percussion equipment and the history of the WYSO Percussion Ensemble here. 


Virtual Percussion Ensemble Program

The Lost by Andrew Stout
To Those Who Are Brave by Phillip Mikula
Through the Fire and Flames by DragonForce, arr. by Ben Wahlund
Clapping Music by Steve Reich
Windstone Suite by Jared Spears
The Chameleon by Andrew Stout
Afro Blue by Mongo Santamaria


A huge THANK YOU to WYSO’s many wonderful supporters at all levels, without whom programs such as this would not be possible.

Theodore W. Batterman Family Foundation, Allegro Music Club, American Family Insurance, American Girl’s Fund for Children, Anonymous, Diane Ballweg, Eric D. Batterman Memorial Fund, Betty Bielefeld, Robert Bielefeld, Bolger Family Fund for WYSO, Eugenie Mayer Bolz Family Foundation, John and Marian Bolz, Robert M. and Anne W. Bolz Charitable Trust, Brat Fest Community Fund, Eric Bradford, Jared Bushek, Capital Times Kids Fund, Charles and Martha Casey, Dianne Cooke, Dane County Cultural Affairs Commission, Randall and Marilyn Dimond, Ruth Downs, Endres Manufacturing Company Foundation, Evjue Foundation, Inc., a charitable arm of the Capital Times, First Unitarian Society, Forest Foundations, Christopher Frautschi, John J. Frautschi Family Foundation, W. Jerome Frautschi Foundation, Martha Fuguitt Fund for WYSO Music, Mary Gerbig and William Houlihan, Javier Garay, William Gillen, Goldstein & Associates, Terry Haller, Richard Hammerstrom, Heid Music Family Charitable Fund, Hon Ip, Kiwanis Club of Downtown Madison, Koppa Family Fund, Stanley and Shirley Inhorn Scholarship Fund, Jun and Sandy Lee, Tiffany Lim and Peter Lee, Madison Community Foundation, Madison Gas & Electric Foundation, Julie Marriott, Marriott Daughters Foundation, Douglas and Martha Maxwell, Barbara Merz, Nicholas and Elaine Mischler, Oak Bank, Old National Bancorp, Edith Olsen Music Foundation, Lee and Cyrena Pondrom, Charles Quade, Pleasant T. Rowland Foundation, Steinhauer Charitable Trust, Judith and Nicholas Topitzes, George Toscas, U.S. Bank Foundation, Andrée and John Valley, Brian Vandewalle and Susan Hoeft Vandewalle, John Walker, Coe and Paul Williams, Coe and Paul Williams Fund for Young Musicians, Williams Fund for Winds, Brass, and State Tours, Wisconsin Arts Board, Wisconsin Department of Administration COVID-19 Cultural Organization Grant Program, Richard and Dolores Wolf, and the WYSO Parent Leadership Committee.

Support WYSO

Click to make a secure online donation.

Shop AmazonSmile

Support WYSO programs when you shop AmazonSmile!

Stay In Touch

Sign up to receive our newsletter and/or emails on concerts and special events.